New York Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements
Massage therapy continuing education requirements for license renewal vary from state to state and the laws are constantly changing. It's our current understanding that New York requires massage therapists to complete 36 CE hours every 3 years for license renewal.
What We Can Do For You!
The Institute is approved directly by the New York State Board for Massage Therapy (#0012) which ensures your confidentiality and quick certificate turnaround time. Learn more.
NOTE: The New York Board of Massage DOES NOT ACCEPT courses related to appearance enhancement practices as defined by the Board, courses on animal massage, aromatherapy courses, marketing or business courses, or any courses in Reiki, Feldenkrais Method or The Alexander Technique. We were also informed by the Board on October 23, 2023 they will not accept any courses on kinesio taping.
If you would like to verify this information, or have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the New York Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the New York Board is 518-474-3817 (ext. 150) or visit their website at https://www.op.nysed.gov/massage-therapy.
Frequently Asked Questions
In order to become licensed to practice massage in New York state you must meet certain requirements.
General Requirements - You must:
- Be of good moral character
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Meet the education requirements and examination requirements
- Meet applicable experience requirements
- Complete a course in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) within the three years prior to your licensure
- Submit evidence of English proficiency, if applicable
- Submit an application for licensure, additional required forms, and fee.
Fees - There is a $108 fee for licensure and first registration. For a limited permit there is a $35 non-refundable fee. These fees are subject to change.
Educational Requirement - You must:
- After completing high school (or equivalent) you will need to complete a minimum of 1000 hours of training through a school of massage therapy with a program registered by the New York State Education Department as licensure qualifying (or equivalent training with classroom instruction in specific subjects satisfactory to the Department with no less than 1000 hours.)
- Your coursework must consist of anatomy, physiology, neurology, myology or kinesiology, pathology, hygiene, first aid, CPR, infection control procedures, the chemical ingredients of products that are used and their effects, as well as the theory, technique and practice of both Oriental and Western massage/bodywork therapy. A minimum of 150 hours of practice on a person must be completed within the total 1000 hours of training.
Examination Requirement - You must pass the New York State Massage Therapy Examination. Before being admitted to the examination, you need to meet all of the requirements for licensure except citizenship. The examination is only offered twice each year and ther eare certain application deadlines that need to be met. See the Examination Requirements on the state's page at http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt/mtlic.htm#exam
For additional information visit New York's site at http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt/mtlic.htm
No, Board Certification does not allow you to practice as a massage therapist in the State of New York. To practice massage therapy in New York you must becoming licensed in the state. While some massage therapists that practice in New York are both licensed by the state and Board Certified, those without the New York license practicing massage therapy in the state may be considered a crime that can be presecuted by the New York State Attorney General.
While training in CPR and certification is required to become licensed it is not required for license renewal. Of course, the Board encourages massage therapists to maintain their CPR skills, but documentation of certification renewal is not a requirement for license renewal.
Yes. In order to practice massage therapy in the state of New York you must become licensed in the state. This requires proof of education and taking a state approved test. More information can be found at http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt/mtlic.htm
According to the New York State Massage Therapy Laws, Rules & Regulations Part 78.2, the passing score on the licensing examination shall be 75.0 as determined by the State Board for Massage.
Yes! The Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is an approved provider the New York State Board for Massage Therapy. Our Approved Provider number is #0012.
Currently, the New York Board of Massage does not have an ethics requirement for massage license renewal.
A New York massage license/registration must be renewed every 3 years. For renewal, the licensee must certify to the Department that they have either completed the 36 continuing education hour requirement or that they are exempt from the requirements. A fee is also required.
Yes. At the beginning of each registration period a mandatory continuing education fee of $45 is collected from New York massage licensees unless they are exempt from the requirement. This fee is in addition to any other applicable registration fees that are required by sections 7804 of the Education Law.
To meet the professional education requirement for licensure, you must complete a minimum of 1000 hours of education, including a minimum of 150 hours of practice on a person.
No, since the Institute is not an Approved Massage School you may not take our courses to become licensed. In order to become an LMT in New York, you must complete the required massage therapy training in an approved massage school.
The New York Board of Massage DOES NOT ACCEPT courses related to appearance enhancement practices as defined by the Board, courses on animal massage, aromatherapy courses, marketing or business courses, or any courses in Reiki, Feldenkrais Method or The Alexander Technique.
No. The scope of practice of massage therapy confines the practice to humans. The only persons who may treat animals using massage therapy techniques are veterinarians and veterinary technicians under the supervision of a veterinarian.
No, the New York Board does not require the CE provider to report completed credits.
No, continuing education hours may not be carried over to subsequent registration periods.
Yes, you can! There is no limit to the number of hours or courses you can complete online.
No, you do not have to submit proof of completion of your CE hours, however you must retain these records for a minimum of 6 years in the event you are randomly selected for an audit by the NY Education Department.
While we don't have any restrictions for a student taking the same course multiple times, your state board may not allow this. In our experience, many state boards typically don't want to see the same massage modality course repeated. However, if you would like to take the same course again we recommend contacting the New York Board to confirm whether they will accept the same course.
If you are licensed as a massage therapist in another state, territory or country based on specific educational and examination requirements and have practiced as a massage therapist in that state, territory or country for at least two years you may be eligible for licensure by endorsement in New York State. Please visit http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/mt/mtlic.htm#endor
for additional information.
The Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is approved by the NCBTMB as a continuing education Approved Provider (#049478-00). All of our continuing education programs can be used for National Certification renewal.
You may also use our credits for other organizations you may belong to, such as the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) or Associated Bodywork Massage Professionals (ABMP).