Texas Massage Therapy Continuing Education Requirements
Massage therapy continuing education requirements for license renewal vary from state to state and the laws are constantly changing. It is our current understanding that Texas requires massage therapists to complete 12 CE hours every 2 years for license renewal.
If you would like to verify this information, or have further questions regarding your massage therapy continuing education requirements, we suggest contacting the Texas Board of Massage directly. The telephone number for the Texas Board is 512-463-6599 or visit their website at https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/mas/mas.htm.
Frequently Asked Questions
To obtain a massage license in Texas, you must:
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Complete a 500-hour minimum, supervised course of instruction provided by a massage therapy instructor at a massage school, a licensed massage school, a state-approved educational institution, or any combination of instructors or schools.
- Pass the required examinations.
More information can be found at https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.455.htm.
You may take all 12 CE hours through our non-technique
(subject matter that is NOT massage therapy techniques or manipulation of soft tissue) home study programs. **https://www.integrativehealthcare.org/Massage-CEU/non-technique-courses**
Yes. As long as the course is not instruction on massage therapy techniques or manipulation of soft tissue.
A non-techniuqe course is a course whereby the subject matter is not massage therapy techniques or manipulation of soft tissue.
Yes, we are a Texas Board of Massage Approved Continuing Education Provider. Our provider number is #CE1428.
No, the Texas Board does not require the CE provider to report completed credits.
No, all 500 hours must be earned either from a massage school, university, college, or other appropriately accredited training program
No, you cannot. Board Certification from NCBTMB is a voluntary certification, not a license. Licenses are issued by government entities and provide licensed professionals with specific authority to use a protected title and/or perform specific services. In Texas, a state license is required to advertise or practice massage therapy.
While we don't have any restrictions for a student taking the same course multiple times, your state board may not allow this. In our experience, many state boards typically don't want to see the same massage modality course repeated. However, if you would like to take the same course again we recommend contacting the Texas Board to confirm whether they will accept the same course.
No specific course topics are off limits, however just remember that continuing education that is offered or presented online or by correspondence is acceptable only if the subject matter is not massage therapy techniques or manipulation of soft tissue.
No. All hours must be either from a massage school, university, collage, or other appropriatly accredited training program whereby the hours are submited on a transcript.
The Institute for Integrative Healthcare Studies is approved by the NCBTMB as a continuing education Approved Provider (#049478-00). All of our continuing education programs can be used for National Certification renewal.
You may also use our credits for other organizations you may belong to, such as the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) or Associated Bodywork Massage Professionals (ABMP).